Contact Us

Mercer Island Youth and Family Services staff can be found across Mercer Island. We provide services and run programs in the old dormitory building at Luther Burbank Park, in every Public School, and at the Thrift Shop.

 

Main Office

Our Main Office houses the MIYFS Food Pantry, Counseling Center, Emergency Assistance, VOICE & SVP, Healthy Youth Initiative, and our administrative services.

2040 84th Avenue SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Phone: (206) 275-7611
Fax: (206) 275-7890

Cynthia Goodwin
MIYFS Director | Email: cynthia.goodwin@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7749

 

MIYFS Licensed Mental Health Counselors – at MISD Public Schools

Professionals reside in every public school on Mercer Island. Parents are encouraged to contact their child’s counselors for mental health and drug and alcohol concerns and support.

Mercer Island High School Team:

Chris Harnish, BA, CC
Substance Abuse Specialist | Email:chris.harnish@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 236-3363

Cathy Gentino, M.C., LMHC
Counselor – Resource & Referral Place | Email: cathy.gentino@mercerislandschools.org| Phone: (206) 236-3290

Islander Middle School Team:

Harry Brown, M.A., LMFT
Islander Middle School Counselor | Email: harry.brown@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 230-6154

Jonathan Herzog, M.A., LMHC
Islander Middle School Counselor | Email: jonathan.herzog@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 230-6113

Elementary Schools Counselors:

Island Park Elementary School Counselor
Liana Montague, M.A., LMFT | Email: liana.montague@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 230-6285

Lakeridge Elementary School Counselor
Julie Mattson, M.S.W | Email: julie.mattson@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 230-6019

Northwood Elementary School Counselor
Laura Falsgraf, M.A. LMHC | Email: laura.falsgraf@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 275-7611

West Mercer Elementary School Counselor
Anna Orton, M.A. LMHC | Email: anna.orton@mercerislandschools.org | Phone: (206) 275-7611

 

Family & Emergency Assistance | Food Pantry | JobLink

MIYFS provides family emergency assistance to low-income Island residents.

Cheryl Manriquez, BSW
Employment & Family Assistance Coordinator | Email: cheryl.manriquez@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7869

 

Summer Youth Development Programs

VOICE for students in grades 8-11; and SVP for students in 6 & 7 grades.

Tambi Cork
Youth Development Coordinator | Email: tambi.cork@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7755

 

Individual, Family and Couples Counseling

Services provided at our Luther Burbank Park offices. Contact our Front Desk to arrange for services.

Phone: (206) 275-7611

 

Healthy Youth Initiative

A unique cross-community effort focused on preventing the harm caused by youth drug and alcohol use in our community.

Derek Franklin
Project Director | Email: derek.franklin@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7745

 

Senior Advocacy and Case Management

Helping Islander Seniors as well as Islander Adult Children of Seniors – no matter where they are living.

Betsy Zuber, M.S.
Licensed Mental Health Counselor & Geriatric Specialist | Email: betsy.zuber@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7752

 

Mercer Island Thrift Shop

Drop off your old Treasures – Find your new Treasures.
Located at 7710 SE 34th Street (SE corner of Mercerdale Park).

Logan Ens
Operations Coordinator | Email: logan.ens@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7766 (for volunteer opportunities)

Suzanne Philen
Business Coordinator | Email: suzanne.philen@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7753

 

Administrative Office

Sari Weiss
Development Officer | Email: sari.weiss@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7756

Kimberly Richards
Administrative Coordinator | Email: kimberly.richards@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7754

Janet Bihun
Administrative Assistant | Email: janet.bihun@mercergov.org | Phone: (206) 275-7746

 

This website is updated as needed by the staff of Mercer Island Youth & Family Services
PRIVACY POLICY: No information is provided to or shared with third parties